Short Story Planning

Did someone forget to tell me that planning a short story is different from planning a novel? The pacing can be faster, more compelling and yet over in a flash if you don’t time it to perfection. Well… maybe not perfection but you know where I’m coming from if you’ve ever written one.

They’ve never been my best pieces of creative work but the word count quota has given me a little more room to work with when compared to past shorts that I’ve written. Despite being written for a contest, I’m not bothered about the end result, just writing something different is enough for me. Having said that, just being one of the 10 chosen would sent me into the upper stratashpere I believe and will take me months to come back down. But… we will not know the outcome until May of 2013.

So, the rough plot for the story is now in hand and the direction of where I want it to go is done. The question now being asked is that will what I want to do, fit within the 7500k upper limit?

A) I don’t know but we’ll soon find out. If it doesn’t then I’ll have to consider something else wont I?

To the story I go!

10 Comments

Filed under Writing Update

10 responses to “Short Story Planning

  1. mysterioussmysteries

    I’ve never been one to plan.lol I writing by the seat of my pants.. And wildly.

    • Usually that would be me also. But for this, some planning was needed. I wouldn’t mind if I wasn’t writing to a set theme, as the whole would would be in the palm of my hands then lol

      • mysterioussmysteries

        LOL I must be odd woman out. Because I never plan for anything. I just write wildly until I have either short story or a novella novel or novelette.lol
        Yes I am Strange I admit it. And I’m okay with that.lol

      • I would not say you are strange. I know other writers who do not plan and in general that would be me. But this time round, planning seems to be the way forward right now.

  2. Haven’t done a short story for a while! I don’t think I ever plan out short stories, lol!

  3. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  4. I want to express appreciation to you just for bailing me out of this type of scenario. As a result of looking throughout the online world and seeing advice which are not beneficial, I was thinking my entire life was gone. Living devoid of the answers to the issues you’ve resolved as a result of this article is a critical case, as well as ones which could have in a negative way affected my career if I hadn’t encountered your site. That natural talent and kindness in taking care of all the things was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I am able to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks a lot so much for your skilled and amazing help. I won’t be reluctant to suggest your web blog to anybody who should receive support on this situation.

Leave a Reply

